Posted in Poetry

Pass me on!

elixir

/ɪˈlɪksə,ɪˈlɪksɪə/

noun

a magical or medicinal potion.

I’m the mother’s kiss 

On a bruised little knee more than Dettol ever could be.

I am the plate of plain rice and dal

For the hostel boy who returned home after more than a year.

I painted her face with rainbow hues

When her mother held her hand as she walked out of the closet.

The inkpot to the writer’s broken heart

I am their baby’s first cry after 7 years of trying. 

Or a mere pencil in those tiny hands

Which held hot kettles and brooms for all their lives.

You see, I’m everywhere and nowhere

But next time you see me, use me a little and pass me on.

Author:

Just another wannabe writer.

12 thoughts on “Pass me on!

    1. BTW, are your initials N.M.? Because I got a follow request from the same around the time you were saying about finding me on social media. So, I was wondering if that is you. 😊

      Like

    1. Yes, absolutely. It maybe different for different people in different situations but we do know it when we see it, most of the time.
      Thank you for your feedback. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

